ARKANSAS: A.C.A. § 16-31-106. Penalty for employees' service prohibited
(A)(1) Any person who is summoned to serve on a jury duty shall
Not be subject to discharge from employment, loss of sick leave, loss of vacation time, or any other form of penalty as a result of his or her absence from employment due to jury duty, upon giving reasonable notice to his or her employer of the summons.
(2) No employer shall subject an employee to discharge, loss of sick leave, loss of vacation time, or any other form of penalty on account of his or her absence from employment by reason of jury duty.
(b) Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
A.C.A. § 16-34-103. Per Diem fees
Persons whose names appear on any legal and authorized grand jury or petit jury list of the respective counties of Arkansas shall receive in addition to any other fees allowable by law the following per diem fees:
(1) When the person fails to attend court, none:
(2) When the person attends court and is excused by the court for any reason from serving as a juror, a minimum of fifteen dollars ($15.00); and
(3) When the person has been sworn touching his qualifications to serve as a juror and has been accepted by the court as qualified, a minimum fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00).
A.C.A. § 21-4-203 Definitions.
As used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise requires;
(1) "State agencies" means all agencies, departments, boards, commissions, bureaus, councils, state-supported institutions of higher learning, or other agencies except the following excluded agencies or positions within agencies:
(A) The elected constitutional officers of this state and their employees;
(B) The general assembly and its employees, including employees of the Bureau of Legislative Research of the Legislative Council and the Division of Legislative Audit;
(C) Members of the Supreme Court, circuit and chancery courts and prosecuting attorneys, and the Administrative Office of the Courts;
(D) The Arkansas State Highway and Administrative Office of the Courts;
(E) All administrative, academic, or other no classified employees of the state-supported institutions of higher learning;
(2) "Agency head" or "agency director" means the executive head of all agencies of the state;
(3) "Annual leave" means vacation time with pay but shall not include compensatory time;
(4) "Catastrophic illness" means a medical condition of an employee as certified by a physician that requires an employee's absence from duty for a prolonged period of time and which results in a substantial loss of income to the employee because of the exhaustion of all earned sick and annual leave;
(5) "Catastrophic leave" means leave granted to an employee as a result of a catastrophic illness, upon the employee's exhausting all sick and annual leave;
(6) "Catastrophic leave bank" means a pool of accrued annual leave donated by employees;
(7) "Compensatory time" means time off in lieu of payment for overtime hours;
(8) "Educational leave" means any pay period of out-service training during which time the employees pursues a regular full-time course of instruction to acquire a specific skill or skills needed;
(9) "Employee" means a person regularly appointed or employed in a position of state service by a state agency, as defined in subdivision (1) of this section, for which he is compensated on a full-time basis;
(10) "Probationary employee" means a person certified from a list of eligible or employed through a work test appointment and serving a probationary period;
(11) "Provisional employee" means a person who has been appointed to fill a position pending the establishment of a register for such position;
(12) "Temporary employee" means a person who has been appointed from a register for a period of time not to exceed six (6) months;
(13)(A) "Working day" means all regularly prescribed days of employment in which the employee performs those duties for which he was hired.
(B) For the purpose of this sub chapter, a working day shall consist of eight (8) hours; and
(13) "Years of service" includes the total number of years of employment with all agencies of Arkansas state government whether such employment is continuous or not.
A.C.A. § 21-4-213 Court and jury leave.
Any employees serving as a witness or juror or party litigant shall be entitled to full compensation in addition to any fees paid for such services, and such services or necessary appearances in any court shall not be counted as annual leave.
CONNECTICUT: Conn. Gen. Stat. §51-247 requires employers to pay a "full-time juror" his or her regular wages for the first five (5) days of juror service. A "full-time employed juror" defined under the statute as an employee that holds a position requiring thirty (30) hours or more of service per wee, and who has been working in that position for more than ninety (90) days. Connecticut does not require employers to compensate part-time employees during the first five days of jury service.pay a full-time employee during the first five days of juror service.
An employer may file a written application with the court to be excused from the duty to compensate a full-time employed juror during the first five days of juror service. In considering such an application, the court will excuse the employer from the duty to pay a full-time employee during the first five days of juror service only if the court finds that the employer would suffer extreme financial hardship, if such a duty were imposed.
§ 51-247(a) provides that the state will reimburse part-time employed jurors and unemployed jurors for "necessary and out-of-pocket expenses" incurred during the first five days of juror service, in a daily reimbursement amount between twenty and fifty dollars. Such "necessary out-of-pocket expenses" include but are not limited to travel but exclude food.
§ 51-247c The state will compensate all jurors, including full-time employed, part-time employed and unemployed jurors, who serve more than five days, at a rate of fifty dollars per day of service for the sixth day and each day thereafter.
GEORGIA: Payment of actual compensation is done on a county wide basis and is not determined by state law. For specific information contact the county clerk of court
34-1-3 Discrimination against employee for attending a judicial proceeding in response to a court order or process; exception to applicability of Code section.
45-16-36 Impaneling of jury to hold inquest; compensation of jurors.
Right to leave for jury duty or when subpoenaed to testify in case arising from duties as teacher; teacher not to pay substitute; retention of juror's compensation.
Cross references- Jury service generally, Ch 12, T. 15
GUAM: Currently there is not such statute in Guam requiring employers to pay their employees for jury service
Title 7, Guam Code annotated §22109 entitled "fees."
Fees. Jurors in the courts of Guam shall receive the following fees, except as otherwise expressly provided by law:
For actual attendance at the place of trial or hearing and for the time necessarily occupied in going to and from such place at the beginning and end of such service or at any time during the same, Thirty dollars ($30.00) per day, except that any juror required to attend more than thirty (30) days in hearing one case may be paid in the discretion and upon the certification of the judge a per diem fee not exceeding Forty Dollars ($40.00) for each day in excess of thirty (30) days he required to hear each case.
Whenever in any case the jury is ordered to be kept together and not to separate, the cost of subsistence during such period shall be paid upon the order of the court. Jury fees provided y this section shall be paid on the certificate of the clerk of the court, and in the case of jury fees in excess of Thirty dollars (30.00) per diem, when allowed as hereinabove provided, on the certificate of the trial judge.
IDAHO: http://www3.state.id.us/legislat/idstat.htmlCommission Act (705 ILCS 310/0.05 W
ILLINOIS: Jury Act (705 ILCS 305/0.01 et seq. (West 1998) and the Jury Commission Act (705 ILCS 310/0.05 (West 1998) Note section 4.1 of the Jury Act (705 IL
CS 305 4.1 (West 1998) and section 10.1 of the Jury Commission Act (705 ILCS 310/10.1 (West 1998) require employers to give employees time off from employment to serve upon the jury for which the employee is summoned. Both such sections, however, expressly state that no employer is obligated to compensate an employee for time taken off for jury duty.
Section 4-11001 of the Counties Code (55 ILCS 5/4-11001 (West 1998), as amended by Public Act 91-321, effective January 1, 2000 which sets forth the amounts which counties must pay jurors for their services. Section 4-11001 (55 ILCS 5/4-11001 (West 1998), as amended by Public Act 91-321, effective January 1, 2000) additionally authorizes jurors to receive such travel expenses as may be determined by the county board except that counties of the first and second class shall receive at least 10 cents per mile. Finally, section 4-11001 (55 ILCS 5/4 –11001 (West 1998), as amended by Public Act 91-321, effective January 1, 1000) provides that if a judge so orders, a juror shall also receive reimbursement for the actual cost of day care incurred by the juror during his or her service on a jury.
IOWA: Iowa Code chapter 607A
607A.8 Fees and expenses for jurors.
Grand jurors and petit jurors in all courts shall receive ten dollars as compensation for each day's service or attendance, including attendance required for the purpose of being considered for service, reimbursement for mileage expenses at the rate specified in section 602.1509 for each mile traveled each day to and from their residences to the place of service or attendance, and reimbursement for actual expenses of parking, as determined by the clerk. A juror who is a person with a disability may receive reimbursement for the costs of alternate transportation from the juror's residence to the place of service or attendance. A juror shall not receive reimbursement for mileage expenses or actual expenses of parking when the juror travels in a vehicle for which another juror is receiving reimbursement for mileage and parking expenses.
KANSAS: K.S.A. 43-173 and K.A.R. 1-9-8
43-173. Jury service; right to serve; liability; costs.
(a) No employer shall discharge or threaten to discharge any permanent employee by reason of such employee's jury service, or the attendance or scheduled attendance in connection with such service, in any court of Kansas.
(b) Any employer who violates the provision of this section:
(1) Shall be liable for damages for any loss of wages, actual damages and other benefits suffered by an employee by reason so such violation;
(2) Shall be ordered to reinstate any employee discharged by reason of such employee's jury service; and
(3) May be enjoined from further violations of this section and ordered to provide other appropriate relief.
(c) Any individual who is reinstated to a position of employment in accordance with the provisions of this section shall be considered as having been on furlough or leave of absence during such period of jury service, shall be reinstated to employee's position of employment without loss of seniority, and shall be entitled to participate in insurance or other benefits offered by the employer pursuant to established rules and practices relating to employees on furlough or leave of absence in effect with the employer at the time such individual entered upon jury service.
(d) In any action or proceeding under this section, the court may award a prevailing employee who brings such action by retained counsel reasonable attorney fees as part of the costs. The court may award a prevailing employer reasonable attorney fees as part of the costs only if the court finds that the action is frivolous or brought in bad faith.
43-171. It; jurors' fees. Jurors shall be paid the following fees our of the county general fund: For attending before any court pursuant to this act, for each day of attendance ten dollars ($10.00) per day; for each mile necessary traveled in going to and returning from the place of attendance, mileage at the rate prescribed by law.
KENTUCKY: KRS 29A.160 prohibits an employer from firing, threatening or coercing an employee because he/she was summoned and/or served as a juror. There is no requirement for compensation by employers.
KRS 29-A 170 mandates that all jurors receive $5 per day for compensation and $7.50 as reimbursement for expenses incurred.
LOUISIANA: LA R.S. 23;965B.(1) and (2) Jury duty and dismissal forbidden; uninterrupted compensations; penalties which in pertinent part states:
B.(1) Any person who is regularly employed in the state of Louisiana shall, upon call or subpoena to serve on a state petit or grand jury, or central jury pool, be granted a leave of absence by his employer, of up to one day, for that period of time required for such jury duty. Such leave of absence shall be granted without loss of wages, or sick, emergency, or personal leave or any other benefit.
(2) Any employer who violates the provisions of this Subsection shall be required to pay the claimant employee his full wages for one day of that period required for jury duty, without reduction in sick, emergency, or personal leave or any other benefit. The employer shall additionally be fined no less than one hundred dollard nor more than five hundred dollars for each offense.
LA R.S. 13:3049: Duty to attend:
Penalty for delinquency; compensation; certificate of attendance which states in pertinent part:
B.(1)(a) The jurors in criminal cases who attend may demand and receive from the parish treasury compensation and an allowance for mileage necessarily traveled going to and from the courthouse to be fixed by the district judges of each judicial district, sitting en banc, subject to approval by the parish governing authority.
(b) The compensation shall not be less than twelve dollars nor more than twenty-five dollars for each day of attendance in court, and the mileage allowance shall not be less than sixteen cents per mile nor more than the rate in
effect for state officials.
(c) Only one change shall be made for mileage each way.
(2)(a) Except as provided by special law, the jurors in civil cases who attend may demand and receive twelve dollars for each day of attendance in court, and sixteen cents for each mile necessarily traveled in going to and returning from the courthouse. Only one charge shall be made for mileage each way.
MAINE: See: 14 M.R.S.A §1218
Protection of jurors' employment and health insurance
1. An employer may not deprive an employee of employment or health insurance coverage, or threaten or otherwise coerce the employee with respect to loss of employment or health insurance voerage, because the employee receives a summons for jury service, responds to a summons for jury service, serves as a juror or attends court for prospective jury service.
See: 14 M.R.S.A. §1215
2. Mileage and compensation of jurors
A juror is entitled to paid mileage at the rate of 15¢ per mile for travel expenses from the juror's residence to the place of holding court and return and to compensation at the rate of $10.00 for each day of required attendance at sessions of the court.
MASSACHUSETTS: The Commonwealth of Massachusetts requires employers to pay their employee/juror regular wages for the first three days or part thereof of juror service. After the third day the state pays jurors $50.00 per day. For further information visit the website at www.magnet.state.ma.us/courts/jury or contact the Office of the Jury Commissioner.
MICHIGAN: There is no Michigan statute requiring employers to compensate employees selected for jury duty. In general, employers try to cooperate with employees who are selected to serve as juries. For example, state employees cntinue to be paid by the state during jury service, but are required to turn over their jury compensation to offset their wages while they serve.
The County Board of Commissioners determine jury compensation at the rate not less than $15.00 for a full day and $7.50 for a half day served.
Revised Judicature Act of 1961 (Excerpt) Act 236 of 1961
600.1344 Jurors; mileage and compensation; payment of jury fee where action removed from circuit court to lower court;
MINNESOTA: Minnesota Statutes sections 593.48 and 593.50
The current per diem for jury service is $30.00 per day. In addition the State of Minnesota also reimburses for daycare. The State of Minnesota does not mandate that employers compensate their employees who are summoned for jury service. However employees are protected by state law from termination or threat of termination for responding to a summons for jury service.
NOTE: Update July 7, 2006: Having just come from jury duty in Minnesota (and unfortunately not even being interviewed for a case and then put on call in status after 2 days) I would like to point out that the juror compensation was reduced from $30 per day a couple of years ago. It is currently $20 a day plus around 26 cents per mile from home per day(calulated by zip code). Employers are not required to give regular pay but those who do are allowed to demand the $20 dollars per day to be turned over to them (you are allowed to subtract parking expenses from this so if your employer is paying for you feel free to park in the $17 ramp). Additionally they will pay daily for child care; the amount varies by type of care (professional or not) but I don\\\'t remember the exact amount since it wasn\\\'t an issue for me. Otto Hansen
MISSISSIPPI: Miss. Code Ann. Section 25-3-92 (2)(a) (1990 Supp.)
(2) State employees may be granted administrative leave with pay. For the purposes of this section, "administrative leave" means discretionary leave with pay, other than personal leave or major medical leave.
(a) The appointing authority may grant administrative leave to any employee serving as a witness or juror or party litigant, as verified by the clerk or the court, in addition to any fees for such services, and such services or necessary appearance in any court shall not be counted as personal leave.
The legislature has provided a statutory mechanism wherein a state employee may be allowed to take administrative leave with pay and retain any jury fee. MS AG Op., Clinton, April 10. \\\\, 1991
In addition, there is no statute requiring private employers to pay their employees for jury service
Miss. Code Ann. Section 25-7-61 (1990 Supp.) provides:
(a) Grand jurors and petit jurors in the chancery, county, circuit and special eminent domain courts shall be paid an amount to be set by the board of supervisors, not to be less than Fifteen Dollars ($15.00) per day and not to be greater than Forty Dollars ($40.00) per day, plus mileage authorized in Section 25-3-41. In the trial of all cases where jurors are in charge of bailiffs and are not permitted to separate, the sheriff with the arrival of the trial judge may pay for room and board of jurors on panel for actual time of trial. Not grand juror shall receive any compensation except mileage unless he shall have been sworn as provided by Section 13-5-45; and no petit juror except those jurors called on special venires shall receive any compensation authorized under this subsection except mileage unless he shall have been sworn as provided by Section 13-5-71.
(b) Jurors making inquisitions of idiocy, lunacy or of unsound mind and jurors on coroner's inquest shall be paid Five dollars ($5/00) per day plus mileage authorized in Section 25-3-1 by the county treasurer on order of the board of supervisors on certificate of the clerk of the chancery court in which such inquisition is held.
(c) Jurors in the justice courts shall be paid an amount of not less than Five Dollars ($5.00) per day and not more than Fifteen Dollars ($15.00) per day, to be established by the board of supervisors. In all criminal cases in the justice court wherein the prosecution fails, the fees of jurors shall be paid by the county treasurer on order of the board of supervisors on certificate of the county attorney in all counties that have county attorneys, otherwise by the justice court judge.
MISSOURI: Missouri Statutes Chapter 494 GENERAL PROVISIONS AS TO JURIES
494.455. Compensation of jurors, mileage – additional compensation
494.456. Jury fees taxed in civil cases. –
Wherever any jury provided for in sections 494.400 to 494.505 shall serve in the trial of any case, other than criminal, there shall be taxed against the unsuccessful party and collected as costs of the sum of twelve dollars as jury fees, which, when collected, shall be paid into the county treasury to the credit of the county revenue fund; and the person paying the same into the county treasury shall take duplicate receipts therefore, on of which shall be filed with the county clerk, and such clerk shall charge the treasurer therewith.
494.460. Employers prohibited from disciplining employees because of jury duty, action for damages, attorney fees. –
1. An employer shall not terminate, discipline, threaten or take adverse actions against an employee on account of that employee's receipt of or response to a jury summons.
2. An employee discharged in violation of this section may bring civil action against his employer within ninety days of discharge for recovery of lost wages and other damages caused by the violation and for an order directing reinstatement of the employee. If he prevails, the employee shall be entitled to receive a reasonable attorney's fee.
Missouri Revised Statutes Chapter 550 Costs in Criminal Cases
State to pay certain costs.
1. In all capital cases in which the defendant shall be convicted, and in all cases in which the defendant shall be sentenced to imprisonment in the penitentiary, and in cases where such person is convicted of an offense punishable solely by imprisonment in the penitentiary and is sentenced to imprisonment in the county jail, workhouse or reform school because such person is under the age of eighteen years, the state shall pay the costs, if the defendant shall be unable to pay them, except costs incurred on behalf of defendant.
2. And in all cases of felony, when the jury are not permitted to separate, it shall be the duty of the sheriff in charge of the jury, unless otherwise ordered by the court, to supply them with board and lodging during the time they are required by the court to be kept together, for which a reasonable compensation may be allowed, not to exceed three dollars and fifty cent per day for each member of the jury and the officer in charge; and the same shall be taxed as other costs in the case, and the state shall pay such costs, unless in the event of conviction, the same can be made out of the defendant
MONTANA: Montana Code Annotated title 3, chapter 15, part 2, Jurors' fees; § 2-15-503 and –504 covering allowable mileage; and § 2-18-619
To-621, which deal with obligations of the juror's employer.
3-15-201. Fees in courts of record
(1) A grand or trial jury panel member shall receive $12.00 per day for attendance before any court of record and a mileage allowance, as provided in 2-18-503, for traveling each way between his residence and the county seat. Those jurors selected from the panel for a case shall receive an additional $13.00 a day while serving.
(1) Members of the legislature, state officers and
employees, jurors witnesses, county agents and all other persons who may be entitled to mileage paid from public funds when using their own automobiles in the performance of official duties are entitled to collect mileage for the distance actually traveled by automobile and no more unless otherwise specifically provided by law.
(3) When a privately owned vehicle is used, a rate equal to the mileage allotment allowed by the United States Internal Revenue Service for the current year must be paid for the first 1,000 miles and 3 cents less per mile for all additional miles traveled within a given calendar month.
NEBRASKA: Neb, Rev. Stat. § 25-1640
Employers are prohibited from penalizing employees for their service on a jury. Upon giving reasonable notice to an employer, an employee will "not be subject to discharge from employment, loss of pay, loss of sick leave, loss of vacation time, or any other form of penalty, as a result of his or her absence from employment due to such jury duty. "In addition, "Any person who is summoned to serve on jury duty shall be excused upon request from any shift work for those days required to serve as a juror without loss of pay." However, "…an employer may reduce the pay of an employee by an amount equal to any compensation, other than expenses, paid by the court for jury duty."
Neb. Rev. Stat.§33-138(1).
This states that the per diem rate for both grand and petit jurors' compensation is thirty-five dollars per day. In addition, mileage will be compensated in accord with the rate provided in Neb, Rev. Stat.§81-1176.
NEVADA: No, it is not required by statute that employers continue to pay jurors while they are serving jury duty. Statute NRS 6.190 lists prohibitions against an employer if an employee is selected to serve.
Jurors are compensated and paid a per diem for jury service. Statutes outlining the rates of compensation are (NRS6.150, 6.155, 6.160, 6.180. and 281.160).
NEW JERSEY: New Jersey does not require private employers to pay their employees during jury service. However, there is a statutory provision (N.J.S.A. 2B: 20-16) that requires full-time employees of governmental entities within the state to be released from their employment and paid their usual wages (minus the statutory per diem fee) when they are required to be in court for jury service. There is another statutory provision (N.J.S.A. 2B: 20-17) that protects jurors' from any employment penalties because of their jury service.
The per diem fee for New Jersey jurors is established within N.J.S.A. 2B22A 1-1. The current fee is $5.00 for both petit (trial) jurors and grand jurors. Please note, with regard to overall compensation, that New Jersey does provide parking, without charge, for nearly all jurors.
NEW HAMPSHIRE: RSA 500-A:15 Compensation of Jurors.
I. Grand and petit jurors' fees and mileage shall be paid by the state. The jurors' fees shall be $10 for each half day's attendance before a superior court; for each mile's travel to and from the place where the juror serves, mileage shall be paid at the rate of $.20 per mile, mileage to be allowed for each day's attendance when the juror is required to leave the town or city in which he resides.
II. For the purpose of this section "attendance for a half day" means attendance either at the forenoon session or at the afternoon session.
III. The clerk of the court in attended shall determine whether a juror has attended for a half day. Said clerk may count travel time to reach the place where the juror serves in determining attendance of the juror, if the juror is required to travel more than 50 miles one way by the most direct route to reach the court.
NEW MEXICO: Contact the New Mexico Legislative Council Service
311 State Capitol
Santa Fe, MN 87503
NORTH CAROLINA: North Carolina does not have a statute pertaining to employers having to pay their employees when they serve on jury duty. Therefore the presumption is they do not have to pay their employees for jury service.
North Carolina General Statute §7A-312, states that petit jurors and coroner's jurors "shall receive twelve dollars per day, except that if any person serves as a juror for more than five days in any twelve month period, the juror shall receive thirty dollars per day for each day of service in excess of five days." Further, grand jurors will receive twelve dollars a day.
NORTH DAKOTA: UNIFORM JURY SELECTION AND SERVICE ACT
§27-09.1-17. Protection of jurors' and witnesses' employment
1. An employer may not deprive an employee of employment, lay off, penalize, threaten, or otherwise coerce an employee with respect thereto, because the employee receives a summons or subpoena, responds thereto, serves as a juror or witness, or attends court for jury service or to give testimony pursuant to a subpoena.
2. Any employer who violates subsection 1 is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.
3. If an employer discharges an employee in violation of subsection 1, the employee within ninety days may bring a civil action for recovery of wages lost as a result of the violation and for an order requiring the reinstatement of the employee. Damages recoverable may not exceed lost wages for six weeks. If the employee prevails, the employee must be allowed a reasonable attorney's fee fixed by the court.
§ 27-09.1-14, Mileage and compensation of jurors
A juror must be paid mileage at the rate provided for state employees in section 54-06-09. A juror must be compensated at the rate of twenty-five dollars for each day of required attendance at sessions of the district court and ten dollars for each day of required attendance at sessions of a coroner's inquest. The mileage and compensation of jurors must be paid by the state for jurors at sessions of the district court. Jurors at coroner's inquests must be paid by the county.
OHIO: §2313.33 and 2313.34 Fees charged against county and Dischargeof juror, compensation. Legislation pending see http://ohioacts.avv.com/122/sb69/sec-2313.34.htm.
OKLAHOMA: There is no statute creating an obligation for employers to compensate their employees for jury service: however, there are penalties for employers who discharge their employees for serving on juries. Basically, an employer who fires an employee for the employee's absence for jury service can be convicted of a misdemeanor, and be forced to pay a fine up to $5,000 (38 O.S. 1991, s 34). Likewise, an employer can be civilly liable for such behavior (38 O.S. 1991, s 35)
Oklahoma statutes currently set juror compensation at $20.00 per day, plus mileage, plus parking (28 O.S. Supp. 1997, s 86). Mileage is tied to the rate allowed by The Internal Revenue Service.
OREGON: ORS §10.090(2), Prohibited Acts by Employers Against Jurors states that, "This section shall not be construed to alter or affect an employers policies or agreements with employees concerning employees wages during times when an employee serves or is scheduled to serve as a juror." (Emphasis added). If the employer pays the juror then they are required to waive their jury pay under ORS § 10.061(3) in circuit courts unless otherwise agreed between the employer and the employee
Oregon requires that jurors be paid:
1) $10 a day in courts other than circuit court.
2) In circuit courts it's $10 a day for the first two days then the number of hours served times the minimum wage as set out in ORS §653.025 for the third and subsequent days. In any event, the third and subsequent days fees shall not be less than $10 or more than $50.
3) Under ORS §10.065, if the juror is required to travel from their, "usual place of abode," Then they are also entitled to reimbursement for travel at 8 cents a mile.
PENNSYLVANIA: Pennsylvania does not require employers to pay their employees for jury service. Pennsylvania offers $9.00 per day to jurors for the first three days of service. After the first three days of service, the compensation grows to $25.00 per day of service.
TENNESSEE: Tennessee Code Annotated §22-4-101,102, and 108
Chapter 4, 22-4-108. Absence from employment---Amount of Compensation.
Chapter 4, 22-4-101. Per Diem and travel allowance. ---(a) Every regular juror, including jurors on chancery court juries, is entitled to receive at least ten dollars ($10.00) for each day's attendance.
UTAH: URL: http://courtlink.utcourts.gov/specproj/selserve.htm
1. Utah Code Section 78-46-21 forbids an employer from discharging or threatening employees for jury service. There is not in this same section a provision requiring employers to pay employees for their jury service
2. Utah Code Section 21-5-4 says:
(1) Every juror and witness legally required or in good faith requested to attend a trial court of record or not of record or a grand jury is entitled to:
(a) $18.50 for the first day of attendance and $49 per day for each subsequent day of attendance; and
(b) If traveling more than 50 miles, $1 for each four miles in excess of 50 miles actually and necessarily traveled in going only, regardless of county line.
WASHINGTON: RCW 2.36.150 Compensation of jurors - - Reimbursement of counties for jury and witness fees in certain cases.
Jurors shall receive for each day's attendance, besides mileage at the rate determined under RCW 43.03.060, the following compensation:
(1) Grand jurors may receive up to twenty-five dollars but in no case less than ten dollars;
(2) Petit jurors may receive up to twenty-five dollars but in no case less than ten dollars;
(3) Coroner's jurors may receive up to twenty-five dollars but in no case less than ten dollars;
(4) District court jurors may receive up to twenty-five dollars but in no case less than ten dollars;
PROVIDED, That a person excused from jury service at his or her own request shall be allowed not more than a per diem and such mileage, if any, as to the court shall seem just and equitable under all circumstances: PROVIDED FURTHER, That the state shall fully reimburse the county in which trial is held for all jury fees and witness fees related to criminal cases which result from incidents occurring within an adult or juvenile correctional institution: PROVIDED FURTHER, That the compensation paid jurors shall be determined by the county legislative authority and shall be uniformly applied within the county.
RCW 43.03.060 Mileage allowance
(1) Whenever it becomes necessary for elective or appointive officials or employees of the state travel away from their designated posts of duty while engaged on official business, and it is found to be more advantageous or economical to the state that travel be by a privately-owned vehicle, rather than a common carrier or state-owned or operated vehicle, a mileage rate established by the director of financial management shall be allowed. The mileage rate established by director shall not exceed any rate set by the United States treasury department above which the substantiation requirements specified in Treasury Department Regulations section 1.274-5t (a) (1), as now law or hereafter amended, will apply.
(2) The director of financial management may prescribe and regulate the specific mileage rate or other allowance for the use of privately owned vehicles or common carriers on official business and the conditions under which reimbursement or other payment for costs may be allowed. The reimbursement or other payment for transportation expenses of any employee or appointed official of the state shall be based on the method deemed most advantageous or economical to the state.
(3) The mileage rate established by the director of financial management pursuant to this section and any subsequent changes thereto shall be reported to the ways and means committees of the House of Representatives and the senate each regular session of the legislature.
WEST VIRGINIA: WEST VIRGINIA CODE §52-3-1(b)
West Virginia Code specifically provides that employers are not required to pay an employee wages or compensation for the time he or she is away from employment for jury service or responding to a jury summons. Other subsections of this statute, however, prohibit any employer from terminating or threatening to terminate an employee who is called to jury service, decreasing his or her compensation for time not actually away from employment, or otherwise discriminating against any employee on the basis of his or her summoning for jury service.
WEST VIRGINIA CODE §52-2-13,
The statutory rate of compensation for jurors is "between fifteen and forty dollars" per day. The actual amount of juror compensation within this range is determined on a county-by-county basis, by the chief judge of the county. Jurors are reimbursed for their mileage at a rate of 32.5cents per mile.
If you have a little spare time on your hands or enjoy retirement, why not use some of it to put some good sense into our jury system? You can volunteer for jury duty. Look at the Florida Statute below, and check out your own state for a similar one. Follow the law and VOLUNTEER.
WHILE WAITING for your opportunity to serve, visit http://fija.org and study up on "Jury Nullification." That is the power every juror has to nullify bad orders about the law from a judge. The judge will tell the jury what the law is and means. But judges have often told juries wrongly, and judges themselves do not necessarily know the law. Many times justices and judges on appellate court panels have disagreed with one another on the law or some aspect of it, and many unanimous opinions have differed from unanimous opinions from other venues. Even the Supreme Court has overturned prior Supreme Court opinions because of changes in Public Policy or the political climate. That proves that the law is UNKNOWABLE by the typical American. And if the law is unknowable or different from what the judge says, or otherwise inscrutable or confusing, the jury SHOULD acquit, regardless of the judge's jury instructions.
Unfortunately, public schools don't teach such common sense, and as a result, juries convict many people they should set free. Your fellow Americans need YOU, a FULLY INFORMED JUROR, on their jury, to keep a rogue judge and prosecutor from running over the defendant like a freight train.
You can download the Juror's Handbook and other valuable guides from the FIJA website. Please forward this message to your friends, family, and associates.
Florida Statute 40.011 Jury lists.—
State of Florida
I, , do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I am years of age; that I am a citizen of the United States and a legal resident of Florida and County; that I personally make application for jury duty; that I am eligible to serve as a juror under the Constitution and laws of Florida; and that I reside at (Address)
Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , (year) , at County, Florida.
(Signature and title of officer